Skip to content
Call Us: +256782105855 Email:

Facts about the Virunga Mountains       

Facts about the Virunga Mountains – The Virunga Mountains, also known as the Virunga Mountain Ranges, are located in three nations in east Africa and have been designated as a world heritage site as part of the Virunga Conservation Massif. The Virunga Mountains are located in Uganda, Rwanda, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. The Albertine rift valley, Lake Albert, and Lake Kivu form the mountain’s base.

The Virunga Mountains: Facts

The following are some of the consequences of the Virunga Mountains:

The Virunga Mountains are eight volcanic chains located solely in east Africa along a branch of the Albertine Rift Valley. Most of the Virunga Mountains are volcanoes that are dormant with the exception of Mount Nyiragongo, mount Nyamuragira which is located in the Virunga national park in the eastern republic of Congo., Virunga mount mountains involve Mount. Gahinga and Mount Mahabura in Mgahinga national park of Uganda, mount Mikeno in Virunga national park, mount Sabinyo in volcano national park of Rwanda, mount Karisimbi and Mount Bisoke.

Mount Karisimbi is the highest volcano in the Virungas, standing at 4507 meters, Mount Sabinyo is the oldest, and Mount Nyamuragira is the most active, with the most recent eruption in 2010, followed by Mount Nyiragongo, which last erupted in 2006 and is the most trekked of the eight mountains.

The Virunga Mountains are home to the world’s last surviving rare and endangered mountain gorillas, which is one of the world’s great attractions and wonders that draws many visitors to Africa.

Thus, the Virunga Mountains are well-known not only for mountain hiking but also for the once-in-a-lifetime gorilla trekking expedition, which is incredibly exciting for all people who participate in the activity.